Cowan a Semi-Finalist for Ray Guy Award

University of Idaho junior punter BOBBY COWAN, a First Team All-WAC selection last year, currently is Idaho's all-time leader in yards-per-punt average, and this week advanced in balloting for the Ray Guy Award, which recognizes the best punter in college football. A native of Vancouvar (Wash.), Cowan is currently No.2 in NCAA rankings in yards per punt average (47.10).

The following is an official press release from the University of Idaho Sports Information Department.

Bobby Cowan, the best punter in University of Idaho football history, has advanced in the balloting for the Ray Guy Award with his placement on the list of semifinalists for the honor that annually recognizes the best punter in college football.

Cowan, a junior from Vancouver, Wash., is Idaho's all-time career average leader with a per-punt yardage of 45.4 per kick. His average of 47.1 per punt this season is second in the NCAA but he has been engaged in a battle for No. 1 throughout the season.

Of his 173 career punts, 42 have been for 50 or more yards. This fall, he has had two kicks of 70-plus yards with a career-best 76-yarder at Virginia. He has three of the top seven all-time averages per season with his 47.1 this year ranking second, his 45.1 in 2010 No. 3 and his 43.0 in 2009 seventh.

He is joined on the list of semifinalists by Ryan Allen (Louisiana Tech), Ian Campbell (UTEP), Steven Clark (Auburn), Scott Kovanda (Ball State), Richie Leone (Houston), Pat O'Donnell (Cincinnati), Jackson Rice (Oregon), Brian Schmiedebusch (Bowling Green) and Brad Wing (LSU).

The semifinalists will be narrowed to three finalists, who will be announced Nov. 21. The winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards shows live on ESPN on Dec. 8.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter's net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Recommended Stories

  • Peyton Manning emerged alone atop yet another category in the NFL record book tonight vs the Niners, as he tossed touchdown #509 under the national spotlight of Sunday Night Football (NBC). (Photo…

  • Former USC and NFL running back LenDale White added tons of drama to what was a relatively quiet Homecoming weekend for the Trojans.

  • Here’s a way to watch football and improve your golf swing at the same time. In your living room (or on the range), practice the one-minute golf swing, as shown in this video. Set the timer on your…

  • Dr. Roto, like many others, can't believe Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson (pictured above) passed for over 300 yards and rushed for over 100 yards in the same game. First time that's ever happened…

  • As soon as those winds fall off, get into the stand! I always tell people you can't kill them if you aren't out, but if you want to try and pick an opportune time – this is it.